Translate using Google:
Lethbridge Primary School

Curriculum: Early Years Foundation Stage - Introduction/ Long Term Plans
For more information about our curriculum, please contact the school or see the classteacher.
Long Term Plans
Term 1     Term 2     Term 3     Term 4     Term 5     Term 6    

Early Years Explained

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old.
This is a very important stage as it helps your child get ready for school as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes. From when your child is born up until the age of 5, their early years' experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; and support their development, care and learning needs.

We therefore see it as important to have close links with playgroups and nurseries within the Old Town area. This ensures that your child’s induction process is accomplished as smoothly as possible.
We build on the experiences and skills that the pre-school providers have given to the children, and share their knowledge of the children.

Nurseries, pre-schools, reception classes and child-minders registered to deliver the EYFS must follow a legal document called the 'Early Years Foundation Stage Framework'.

The EYFS sets the standards that schools must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure 'school readiness' and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good progress through school and life.

The children are given opportunities to play and explore, to investigate and experience things and to 'have a go'. They are active and develop their own ideas. They are all unique and will have different interests and abilities. The areas of development have been divided into 2 groups:

3 Prime areas:
Communication and language
  • Listening and attention
  • Understanding
  • Speaking
Physical development
  • Moving and handling
  • Health and self-care
Personal, social and emotional development
  • Making relationships
  • Self-confidence and self-awareness
  • Managing feelings and behaviour

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.
As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas:

4 specific areas:
  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Numbers
  • Space, Shape and Measures
Understanding the world
  • People and Communities
  • The World
  • Technology
Expressive arts and design
  • Media and Materials
  • Imagination

Within each of these areas, there are specific Early Learning Goals.

The EYFS is broken down into four age bands, called Development Matters bands: 16-26 months, 22-36 months, 30-50 months and 40-60 months.

For each age band, and each area of learning, there is a series of statements relating to a child’s development: for example, 'notices simple shapes and patterns in pictures'.

Assessment is ongoing throughout the EYFS, but the official EYFS Profile for each child is completed in the final term of Reception. The assessment takes place through teacher observation of children’s learning and development as they take part in everyday activities, and planned observations, where teachers spend time on a specific task with an individual child or small group. The activities are usually based around a topic or theme. Within the Foundation Stage, play is at the heart of the curriculum. Well-planned play, both indoor and outdoor, enables children to learn by experience, to interact with one another and to learn with enjoyment and challenge.

There are three separate achievement levels within each Development Matters age band:
  • Expected: your child is working at the level expected for his age
  • Emerging: your child is working below the expected level
  • Exceeding: your child is working above the expected level

Your child's teacher will award one of these levels for each of the seven EYFS areas of learning.

On leaving the Foundation Stage at the end of Reception, your child will be assessed against the 17 Early Learning Goals and their progress will be shared with you. A child is considered to have a 'good level of development' if they have achieved at least the expected level in the Early Learning Goals in all aspects of Personal, Social and Emotional development, Physical development, Communication and language, Literacy and Mathematics.

To ensure that EYFS levels are consistent within schools and nationally, the Profile is subject to moderation. This happens both internally, for example with other teachers and the head teacher, and externally, with the Local Authority taking a sample of a school's Profiles to moderate.

For a parents’ guide to the EYFS curriculum, click here
Lethbridge Primary School                     Lethbridge Road                     SWINDON                     Wilts                     SN1 4BY
Telephone: 01793 535033                                Email:
Lethbridge Primary School is a charitable company limited by guarantee registered in England and Wales. Registered number: 7685652.
Registered office: Lethbridge Primary School, Lethbridge Road, SWINDON, Wilts SN1 4BY
Lethbridge Primary School, Lethbridge Road, SWINDON, Wilts SN1 4BY
Tel: 01793 535033
Lethbridge Primary School is a charitable company limited by guarantee registered in England and Wales. Registered number: 7685652.
Registered office: Lethbridge Primary School, Lethbridge Road, SWINDON, Wilts SN1 4BY